Vintage Port - newbie needs advice

Anything to do with Port.
robsauce
Cruz Ruby

Vintage Port - newbie needs advice

Post by robsauce »

Originally posted this on winespectator and got a few replies from bman and killerb that really helped, but figured I would post this again here to see if I can get any other suggestions. In the last 2 years I've taken quite a liking to Port, but mostly just Tawny's and LBV's as I just started getting into port. After buying about 10 bottles of 2000 and 2003 vintage port I figured it was about time I buy some aged-ready to drink now port and try it to see if I actually like the stuff.

So, I recently bought a bottle of 83 Smith Woodhouse and 83 Gould Campbell and was planning on opening one for a pre-christmas and birthday dinner on Dec. 24th. I have a few questions for the forums members, specifically the port guru's who have tasted both of these bottles. I'm a newbie when it comes to vintage port so any help is appreciated.

1) Is one of these bottles currently showing better than the other? Would one benefit over the other with more bottle age?

2) Based on previous tasting notes and experience, how long would you recommend decanting either bottle? The entire bottle will most likely be consumed in about a 2-3 hour window after dinner and I would like it to be showing its best during that time.

3) Going along with number 3, how long should the bottle be stood up before decanting?

Any other suggestions for someone who has never opened an aged bottle of vintage port is also appreciated. Thanks (and thanks again to those that already responded on winespectator forums)
DRT
Fonseca 1966

Post by DRT »

Welcome to TPF, robsauce :D

I just reviewed my one and only TN on the Gould Campbell 1983 and from that note I would suggest at least 6 hours decanting time.

Unfortunately, I have not had a SW83 (someone here will probably now point out that I have but can't remember) so have no basis upon which to advise which would be best.