Page 11 of 11

Re: New Style

Posted: 05:25 Mon 17 Nov 2008
by jdaw1
OK, sorry about the delay writing a letter. Back on task.

Re: New Style

Posted: 06:43 Mon 17 Nov 2008
by jdaw1
JacobH wrote:A form would be possible:

Code: Select all

<form action="**phpBB pseudo-code**" method="get">
<input type="submit" value="reply" />
</form>
where **phpBB pseudo-code** is whatever phpBB currently has as the href attribute of the <a> tag. This will require quite a lot of styling.
OK, I'm stuck at getting the button to do anything. I have a link variable, {U_POST_REPLY_TOPIC}, being substituted for the likes of posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=1931, but putting this into "action" does nothing. (But formatting is easy: ‟class="button2"”.)

Clues welcomed please. (We are nearly there.)

Re: New Style

Posted: 18:03 Sun 23 Nov 2008
by DRT
Just in case you are not aware: The Reply button still looks terrible. A temporary non-ideal solution may be a good idea.

Re: New Style

Posted: 20:37 Sun 23 Nov 2008
by Alex Bridgeman
But at least it works on a BlackBerry!

Re: New Style

Posted: 23:45 Tue 25 Nov 2008
by JacobH
jdaw1 wrote:
JacobH wrote:A form would be possible:

Code: Select all

<form action="**phpBB pseudo-code**" method="get">
<input type="submit" value="reply" />
</form>
where **phpBB pseudo-code** is whatever phpBB currently has as the href attribute of the <a> tag. This will require quite a lot of styling.
OK, I'm stuck at getting the button to do anything. I have a link variable, {U_POST_REPLY_TOPIC}, being substituted for the likes of posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=1931, but putting this into "action" does nothing. (But formatting is easy: ‟class="button2"”.)

Clues welcomed please. (We are nearly there.)
Ah, right, I see the problem. Try changing the method to "post".

(I did not realise that you could not send form data with a GET request via. a form whose target URL already included GET data (the ?mode=reply&f=9 &c.))

Re: New Style

Posted: 03:37 Wed 26 Nov 2008
by jdaw1
Thank you that works.

Code: Select all

<form action="{U_POST_REPLY_TOPIC}" method="post"><input class="button2" type="submit" value="{L_POST_REPLY}"></form>
Please would Blackberry and non-Blackberry users confirm happiness in this department.

Edit: non-Blackberry unhappiness: ⌘-click no longer opens the reply in a new tab.

Re: New Style

Posted: 23:39 Sat 29 Nov 2008
by Alex Bridgeman
I can confirm BlackBerry happiness with the button on the forum. Thank you.

Top Right of Home Page

Posted: 20:42 Mon 22 Dec 2008
by Alex Bridgeman
I've just noticed that on the home page (in fact, on all pages) the area above the dividing red line, on the right hand side, has cut off some of the text and links. These now read:

FAQ

Men

Log
[AH


I'm using 1024x780 as my screen resolution, in case this is the cause of this glitch.

Alex

Re: New Style

Posted: 22:20 Mon 22 Dec 2008
by jdaw1
Does look odd. Will investigate on return from the in-laws.

Re: Top Right of Home Page

Posted: 07:15 Tue 23 Dec 2008
by benread
AHB wrote:I've just noticed that on the home page (in fact, on all pages) the area above the dividing red line, on the right hand side, has cut off some of the text and links. These now read:

FAQ

Men

Log
[AH


I'm using 1024x780 as my screen resolution, in case this is the cause of this glitch.

Alex
I have exactly the same issue. 1024 X 768 for me.

Re: New Style

Posted: 09:25 Tue 23 Dec 2008
by Alex Bridgeman
I'm using a different machine now, this one with 1280 x 800 resolution. All looks normal and neat now. Either the different screen resolution has made a difference or something has been tweaked.

Re: New Style

Posted: 16:41 Tue 23 Dec 2008
by jdaw1
No tweaking from me.

Re: New Style

Posted: 21:57 Tue 23 Dec 2008
by Alex Bridgeman
It works perfectly on another machine with 1280 x 800 resolution.

Re: New Style

Posted: 12:06 Wed 24 Dec 2008
by JacobH
Testing with Browser Shots suggests that it’s a problem with IE7. Further investigation suggests that it is a known bug, that has been fixed with the current IE8 beta. Browser Shots back that up, as it is fine with whatever version of IE8 they are using.