Pyramid shaped tea bags

Talk about anything but keep it polite and reasonably clean.
AW77
Morgan 1991

Pyramid shaped tea bags

Post by AW77 »

Yesterday afternoon I have done something I have never done before: I used a pyramid shaped tea bag (one must be daring once in a while :) ). Since I spotted them on the shelves a couple of years ago I always thought them too arty and really an unnessary invention. But then I was in a placable mood while shopping on Thursday so I just bought a package of Earl Grey. I must say that I really enjoyed my tea. The bag contained "real" loose tea and not the kind of powder that is normally used in the standard tea bags. Plus it was as easy to use as the standard ones (I wrongly expected the pyramid shaped bags to have no string to remove the bag from the cup.)
I think I will not switch completely to these pyramid shaped tea bags but they will be a good supplement to my normal range.
As the English are very sophisticated connoisseurs of tea, I wonder what people on the forum think of this kind of tea bag.
The Eleventh Commandment: Thou shalt know thy Port
DRT
Fonseca 1966

Re: Pyramid shaped tea bags

Post by DRT »

AW77 wrote:I wonder what people on the forum think of this kind of tea bag.
I think the people on this forum will require more detailed analysis before venturing an opinion.

Is it possible to buy the same tea leaves in pyramid, square (flat) and round (flat) tea bags? There are also variants of the material used to make the bags. Most are the traditional perforated paper variety but some new ones, particularly pyramids, are made from a fine nylon mesh.

A full range of bags are required, all with the same tea leaves, plus some loose tea leaves as a control sample.

Should we book The Bung Hole?
"The first duty of Port is to be red"
Ernest H. Cockburn
djewesbury
Graham’s 1970

Pyramid shaped tea bags

Post by djewesbury »