New to Forum

Come and say hello.
Digger
Cruz Ruby

New to Forum

Post by Digger »

Hello,

I am new to the Forum so let me introduce myself, I use the nickname Digger,I have been drinking Port for around ten years and prior to this I never drank wine at all ,I only went for traditional English Ale and Bitter,that is until I went on Holiday to Portugul and was offered a glass of Tawney 20 Year Kopke by a local and thought it rude to refuse, this was a life changing event and I am now a Port drinker.

I prefer Tawneys and Colheitas ,my regular favorite being Kopke 10yr Tawney ,however on my last trip I was given glass of Quinta da Romaneira Colheita 1989 this was beyond doubt the best Port I have ever had, so I picked up two for special occasions.I have a small collection of vinatge Ports, mainly vintage 2000.

I have joined this Forum as I hope I can pick up some good advice from people with more Knowledge than myself and also because iIhave not as yet found anyone to disscuss Port with.

That just about sums Port and myself up however i do still drink Ale and Bitter.

Thank You for having me in your Forum ,Digger
g-man
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994

Re: New to Forum

Post by g-man »

Welcome to the forums Digger,

Tawnies make for some great drink. If you get a chance see if you can find a 74 Noval Colheita, it's fantastic.

Hope to see you at one of our offlines.
Disclosure: Distributor of Quevedo wines and Quinta do Gomariz
benread
Niepoort 1977

Post by benread »

Digger wrote: That just about sums Port and myself up however i do still drink Ale and Bitter.
The drink's of a gentleman! Welcome. If you take a look here you will see a Colheita / Tawny tasting is being suggested. If London is an evening option for you, do feel free to join us if you can. Nothing more than a suitable bottle of port and contribution to corkage at chosen venue (if indeed any is payable!) is required.
Ben
-------
Vintage 1970 and now proud owner of my first ever 'half-century'!
Alex Bridgeman