Evening all

Come and say hello.
dockmaster
Cheap Ruby

Evening all

Post by dockmaster »

Good evening all,

I came on here because I know precious little about Port (other than the fact it goes down mighty well). I'm a Bar Manager of a new bar in Docklands, London and have actually come on board to get an idea of what Ports I should be stocking for the restaurant (we have yet to hire a sommelier).

Any suggestions would be most welcome.

I have been offered, from varying suppliers:

Smith Woodhouse 1983 Vintage

A variety of Ramos Pinto wines including LBVs from 2000, 2001, 2002 and vintages from '82, '83, '95 and 2000.

Quinta de Roriz Vintage 1999

If anyone knows these wines and has any comments let me know.

If anyone needs any help with any other spirits I have over 15 years experience in the bar trade and have an extensive knowledge of such things.

Good health!
jdaw1
Cockburn 1851

Re: Evening all

Post by jdaw1 »

Evening.

1. Which bar? Some of us might want to drink there?

2. We have a long list of tasting notes.

3. TNs for the SW83 (Sun 30 Nov 2008, Thu 21 Jun 2007) are favourable. Is it expensive?

4. Ramos-Pinto ’83 liked, but the ’00 wasn’t.
dockmaster
Cheap Ruby

Post by dockmaster »

Dockmaster's House in West India Quay. The old Excise House next to the cinema. It wil be a fine-dining Indian Fusion restaurant. We are putting together quite an exciting wine and spirit list with particularly hard to find items that cannot be found anywhere else. My friend who runs a Spanish restaurant is helping source some very nice sherries but I'm stuck a little on ports.

We won't be opening until February but I'm getting the Bar Menus together now. You're more than welcome to pop in then and have a bottle of Krug Clos de Mesnil 1989.

:roll:
benread
Niepoort 1977

Post by benread »