Just discovering port

Come and say hello.
jazzylee77
Cruz Ruby

Just discovering port

Post by jazzylee77 »

Okay, I just registered and see that there is a bit of a delay till an administrator reviews and I get an email. So I am composing my introductory post on notepad. Perhaps I will save some embarrassment when I edit later! :)

Warning..this could be long and convoluted.

Alcoholism

I am almost 50. (That makes me 49 for you arithmetically challenged souls) I quit drinking about 20 years ago. I drank everything. I was a travelling musician; everyone wanted to buy me a drink, and I accepted. Mostly beer, but sometimes by the end of the night I would try anything,literally including what was left on the bar mat. I would, to the patrons delight, say things to the bartender like "Give me a drop out of every bottle!!" and she would oblige... Or "make another long island ice tea... but this time skip the cola and sour mix." No one considered me an alcoholic, but I had my style of binge drinking. I knew I needed to quit, and attempts to cut back or otherwise regulate my drinking had no permanent affect. (having a similar problem with dieting now!) But I eventually turned the switch in my head and quit, with noticable life improvements. (more money in my pockets, weight loss, more productive use of my time, more energy)

Okay, that story could go on and on... 20 years later I only had a sip of wine now and then, tasting my dates glass. But this past summer I dated a chef. The continuous dining out and pairing of wines with foods, reading about wines... well I started drinking a glass or 2 every evening. And I feel the more mature self I am is handling it ok. And yet I bring this up at the outset, since it is a possible catastrophe in the waiting.