I'm new to all this...

Come and say hello.
Tony
Cruz Ruby

I'm new to all this...

Post by Tony »

Hello all,

I am fairly new to appreciating Decent Port and completly new to discussion forums but this site looked very interesting. I am also getting geared up for my first visit to Porto and the lodges next year so future tips would be most welcome!

I have been into wine generally for quite a while but getting more into Port is working well for me as it is one of the few types of wine that both myself and my wife enjoy.

I never really thought that the "average" port drinker would be the type to contribute to forums but clearly I was way off!

Cheers,

Tony, Hornchurch, Essex, UK.
Alex Bridgeman
Graham’s 1948

Re: I'm new to all this...

Post by Alex Bridgeman »

Tony,

You are very welcome indeed to The Port Forum, which was set up simply as a place where folks who like port can share their thoughts and experiences. It gives you a place to look when you want to know what something was like or simply to share a story with other people who will enjoy it.

One of the stories that I sometimes share with other people is my first trip to Oporto. This was in the summer of 1993. I know the date exactly as my wife and I booked the trip in winter 1992/3 and by the time we travelled, she was pregnant with our daughter. I had the lucky privilege of being on a tour of several of the port lodges in Vila Nova de Gaia with someone sitting next to me saying "Here, have mine as well." We ended the trip with a 4 day cruise up the Douro river and managed to visit a number of historic sites and a couple of Quintas (including Malvedos), leading to the demolition of a bottle of Malvedos 1979 vintage port at an impromptu party on the last night of the cruise! Happy memories.