Hello, folks

Come and say hello.
M.Charlton
Taylor’s LBV

Hello, folks

Post by M.Charlton »

Thanks for adding me to the forum!

I’ve been drinking port for a few years now, and I’m keen to advance my knowledge. I therefore attended the port walk at Berry’s last November, and when looking for the event for this year, I came across this:

https://www.bbr.com/products-51467-intr ... ember-2018

Do any of you folks know about the above event and how it compares to the port walk? Any info/comments would be much appreciated.

Cheers,
Michael
jdaw1
Cockburn 1851

Re: Hello, folks

Post by jdaw1 »

Hello and welcome to TPF.

Re your question, I don’t know, but Berry’s will. Perhaps ask BBR to recommend for you one of the walk and the tutored tasting.
Alex Bridgeman
Graham’s 1948

Post by Alex Bridgeman »

Welcome Michael

I've been to a few of the tutored tastings at Berry's and have enjoyed them all. They are much more formally organised than the genteel chaos that is the Port Walk. The tutored tastings tend to be seated classroom style in rows with your glasses laid out in front of you. Over the course of 2 hours, Demetri will probably take you through some background to Port and the region and then describe, taste and discuss each wine one at a time. It's a nice range of Ports he's chosen for the event.

You know the way the Port Walk works. You get a larger range of Ports to choose from, but can sometimes struggle to get to the counter.