Ideas Please

Anything but Port, this includes all wines other than fortified wines (which have their own section) even if they call themselves Port. There is a search facility for this part of the forum.
Forum rules
Anything but Port, this includes all non-Port fortified wines even if they call themselves Port. There is a search facility for this part of the forum.
DRT
Fonseca 1966

Ideas Please

Post by DRT »

My Mother is one of a group of dedicated individuals who have spent the past 25 years running a fund raising group. Suffice to say she is very good at it and has a medal awarded by the Pope to prove it :shock: Anyone interested in knowing more of this part of the story please PM me.

As part of the planning of their events list for 2008 my good old Mum asked me how she could run a wine tasting centred on Fair Trade wines. I am no expert on dry wines and could not begin to advise anyone on how to run a tasting for the uninitiated.

I should stress at this point that we are looking at a group of 50 or so individuals who probably have no interest whatsover in wine, other than to buy it cheap and glug it down. What they are looking for is a fun event, probably with some sort of "competion" theme and an opportunity to extract as many pound coins as possible from all those in attendance.

If anyone has experience of running "fun" wine tastings can you please let me know. Better still, if anyone reading this who has experience of running such an event, lives within striking distance of Edinburgh and would like to give up an evening to entertain this bunch of nutters and raise some cash for a good cause please PM me.

Thanks

Derek
"The first duty of Port is to be red"
Ernest H. Cockburn
Andy Velebil
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994

Post by Andy Velebil »

Derek,

Since most of my family loves to put ice cubes in their wine :roll: I've a little experience here.