Software that makes placemats

Organise events to meet up and drink Port.
Andy Velebil
Dow 1980
Posts: 2547
Joined: 22:16 Mon 25 Jun 2007
Location: Los Angeles, Ca USA
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by Andy Velebil » 12:54 Sat 02 Sep 2017

DRT wrote:
12:39 Sat 02 Sep 2017
For the purposes of testing this you could force the software to output CMYK or RGB somewhere on the sheet.
Did DRT just get all computer technical and stuff. Julian what have you done to him? :shock: :shock:

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 12:56 Sat 02 Sep 2017

DRT wrote:
12:39 Sat 02 Sep 2017
For the purposes of testing this you could force the software to output CMYK or RGB somewhere on the sheet.
Brilliant. Done. Old files replaced.

PhilW
Dow 1980
Posts: 2715
Joined: 14:22 Wed 15 Dec 2010
Location: Near Cambridge, UK

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by PhilW » 16:08 Sat 02 Sep 2017

jdaw1 wrote:
12:56 Sat 02 Sep 2017
DRT wrote:
12:39 Sat 02 Sep 2017
For the purposes of testing this you could force the software to output CMYK or RGB somewhere on the sheet.
Brilliant. Done. Old files replaced.
Surely the best approach would be a CMYK to RGB colour-space conversion performed in post-script? ;)

User avatar
flash_uk
Dow 1980
Posts: 2746
Joined: 20:02 Thu 13 Feb 2014
Location: London

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by flash_uk » 17:33 Sat 02 Sep 2017

flash_uk wrote:
20:38 Fri 01 Sep 2017
jdaw1 wrote:
13:57 Fri 01 Sep 2017
flash_uk wrote:
10:54 Fri 01 Sep 2017
On my HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus at home, RGB is considerably darker and sharper. Will bring the prints to the next tasting we attend together.
Wow! That is very surprising. Thank you for testing.
Maybe I'll just check that I got them the right way round.
OK, retested with the updated pdfs. Same result, RGB darker and sharper.

Will also test on a Samsung Multi-function laser printer in the office tomorrow.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 23:42 Tue 06 Mar 2018

Glenn E. wrote:
20:43 Mon 06 Apr 2015
I now have GhostScript installed and so tried it myself using the first file that I generated for this set of placemats. (I sent a different file to my friend based off a known-to-be-good version from the FTLOP 1985 Horizontal in January.)
GhostScript Bug 695906, on 16 Oct 2017 wrote:Works fine with the new scan converter.
Glenn: are you able to update your GhostScript to the latest? Please would you be willing to /InlineTitlesAttemptMinimiseNumContours true def, and test whether new GhostScript is still painfully slow? Thank you.

This is not urgent.

Edit: also /InlineTitlesMaxNumberContours 20 def.

Glenn E.
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994
Posts: 3358
Joined: 22:27 Wed 09 Jul 2008
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Re: RE: Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by Glenn E. » 20:20 Wed 07 Mar 2018

jdaw1 wrote:
Glenn E. wrote:
20:43 Mon 06 Apr 2015
I now have GhostScript installed and so tried it myself using the first file that I generated for this set of placemats. (I sent a different file to my friend based off a known-to-be-good version from the FTLOP 1985 Horizontal in January.)
GhostScript Bug 695906, on 16 Oct 2017 wrote:Works fine with the new scan converter.
Glenn: are you able to update your GhostScript to the latest? Please would you be willing to /InlineTitlesAttemptMinimiseNumContours true def, and test whether new GhostScript is still painfully slow? Thank you.

This is not urgent.

Edit: also /InlineTitlesMaxNumberContours 20 def.
I don't believe that I have GhostScript installed on my current computer. I have gone back to using ps2pdf.com because you fixed the issue that was causing that website to fail.

Glenn
Glenn Elliott

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 13:54 Sat 10 Mar 2018

Bug report re Mac Preview’s setlinewidth and clip’ping

FYI.

This is the text of a bug report re Mac Preview 10.0 (944.4) under macOS High Sierra 10.13.3. Please suggest improvements: whatever makes it more likely to be fixed.

Mac Preview mis-displays PDF files. Both setlinewidth and clip'ping regions are seriously mis-displayed, which is most inconvenient for those using macOS to produce beautiful files.

A PDF file has been made from the hand-written PostScript file at
www.jdawiseman.com/papers/bugs/201803_P ... lip_bug.ps
Because this is handwritten, it can be read and understood by a human, who can then see what it is meant to do, and compare to what actually happens.

It was distilled with Distiller XI Pro 11.0.23 (01/11/2017) to make
www.jdawiseman.com/papers/bugs/201803_P ... ip_bug.pdf

The PostScript was opened in Mac Preview 10.0 (944.4) under macOS High Sierra 10.13.3, and at 1200* screenshotted to make
Image
Observe error: red stroke of the (S) is much thinner than it should be.

The distilled PDF was opened in Mac Preview 10.0 (944.4) under macOS High Sierra 10.13.3, and at 1200* screenshotted to make
Image
Two errors: red stroke of the (S) is much thinner than it should be. Also the painting of the triangle clipped to the (S) is not correctly clipped: some green and black spills out of the S.

The same distilled was PDF opened in Adobe Acrobat Reader DC 2018.011.20038, and at 1200* screenshotted to make
Image
This shows correctly.

The text of this report is also at www.jdawiseman.com/papers/bugs/201803_P ... ip_bug.txt

Any or all files might be updated or improved to show the bug better. Check for latest.

Summary: Preview badly mis-displays the PDF, and also (though to a lesser extent) the PostScript.

Mac Bug 38317613 https://bugreport.apple.com/web/?problemID=38317613
Also at https://groups.google.com/forum/#!topic ... O_tFq3dyDM

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 23:37 Mon 12 Mar 2018

In 'Table of Contents', Preview’s navigation dysfunctional

This is the text of a bug report re Mac Preview 10.0 (944.4) under macOS High Sierra 10.13.3.

Download and open
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2018/20180102_Ideally1878.pdf
View > Table of Contents (or, equivalently, command-option-3)
Click on the arrow next to “Vote recorders (pp35-39, A4)” to make visible its sub-items.

Click on “Wine of the Night? (p37, A4)”. The black focus jumps from there up a few lines. Click on “What is it? (p39, A4)”. Again focus jumps.

In a previous version of Preview (no, I don't know precisely, but about two OS's ago) one could navigate through the Table of Contents using up and down arrows. Attempt same. Observe jumping about. This user interface isn't working.

Please fix.

The text of this bug report, perhaps updated or improved, is also at
http://www.jdawiseman.com/papers/bugs/2 ... ntents.txt

I have many PDFs giving Preview this problem, including:
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20171219_1977s.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20171130 ... _1970s.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20171129_Calem.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20171102_1970s.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20171019_mature.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20171010 ... mpbell.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170928_Bring.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170907_SQVP_Blind.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170809_Blind.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170801_Emergency.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170713_Blind.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170621 ... yHouse.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170600_Portugal.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170608_1967s.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170524 ... mebody.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170510 ... quired.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170426_DFW.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170419_emergency.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170406_1955s.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170322_blind.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170309 ... tangle.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170301 ... uctory.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170204_CUTwC.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170204 ... rkusen.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170201 ... it_hen.pdf
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2017/20170104 ... Bottle.pdf

Mac Bug report 38358147 https://bugreport.apple.com/web/?problemID=38358147

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 23:39 Mon 12 Mar 2018

Apple Preview ignores many pdfmark settings

This is the text of a bug report re Mac Preview 10.0 (944.4) under macOS High Sierra 10.13.3.

mark {Catalog} << /PageLayout /TwoPageLeft >> /PUT pdfmark
This PostScript command, which is echoed in the PDF, causes a two page layout in which the first page is not shown by itself. Two pages, without title page. Heeded by Adobe reader; ignored by Preview.


mark /Action << >> /Color [0 0 0] /F 0 /Title () /OUT pdfmark
mark /Action << >> /Color [0 0 0] /F 2 /Title (\247 Re-ordered) /OUT pdfmark

The “/F 2” sets the Outline (= Table of Contents) entry to be bold. Heeded by Adobe reader; ignored by Preview.

Code: Select all

mark
	/Rect [ ... ]
	/Subtype /Polygon
	/BS  << /Type /Border  /W 1  /S /S >>
	/Subj (A string)
	/ModDate ParametersVersionDateTimeAdobeFormat
	/F 64 128 add  % ReadOnly + Locked. PDFReference16.pdf page 574
	/Vertices [ ... ]
	/Color [ 0.6 0.6 1.0 ]
/ANN pdfmark
Adds a non-printing polygon to show the boundary of something. Heeded by Adobe reader; ignored by Preview.

The first two of these bugs can be seen by opening
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2018/20180102_Ideally1878.pdf
and the third in
http://www.jdawiseman.com/2016/20161215_White_Horse.pdf

Please could these and other settings be heeded.

This text, perhaps updated, will appear at
http://www.jdawiseman.com/papers/bugs/2 ... ttings.txt

Apple bug 38391355 https://bugreport.apple.com/web/?problemID=38391355

PhilW
Dow 1980
Posts: 2715
Joined: 14:22 Wed 15 Dec 2010
Location: Near Cambridge, UK

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by PhilW » 07:54 Tue 10 Apr 2018

In the latest placemats, why are the "1963" over the shipper different sizes?
jdaw1 wrote:
18:44 Sat 17 Feb 2018
Draft of the placemats.
Image Image
In the above, the 1963 over Ck and Mz are clearly smaller than those over G and D; perhaps some form of proportion since the Mz and Ck are in a smaller font than G and D (being maximised to fit within circles), but it would look better if all the 1963s were the same size font. I don't know how the font size decision for the over-print of the year was determined (I haven't looked, to be fair); perhaps some additional form of control might already provide the capability to enforce a common font size for the 1963s since they are all the same and in the same size area, but if not then perhaps it might be a worthwhile addition.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: RE: Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 09:50 Thu 12 Apr 2018

PhilW wrote:In the above, the 1963 over Ck and Mz are clearly smaller than those over G and D; perhaps some form of proportion since the Mz and Ck are in a smaller font than G and D (being maximised to fit within circles), but it would look better if all the 1963s were the same size font. I don't know how the font size decision for the over-print of the year was determined (I haven't looked, to be fair); perhaps some additional form of control might already provide the capability to enforce a common font size for the 1963s since they are all the same and in the same size area, but if not then perhaps it might be a worthwhile addition.
It was wrong. I will investigate whether it was a user error or a programmer failure (same person; different roles) and suggest a plan, or just effect it.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 22:00 Thu 12 Apr 2018

Instead of

Code: Select all

/OvertitleMaxFontSizeProportionTitles 0.125 def
it would have been better to do

Code: Select all

/OvertitleMaxFontSizeProportionTitles 0.166666666 def
/FontSizesRatioAboveBelowOverMin 999 def
So it could be a user error.

But I think a change of default for FontSizesRatioAboveBelowOverMin would be advisable, from

Code: Select all

/FontSizesRatioAboveBelowOverMin 2 sqrt sqrt def
to

Code: Select all

/FontSizesRatioAboveBelowOverMin 999 def
So it could be a programmer error.

A reminder: if font sizes are closer in ratio than FontSizesRatioAboveBelowOverMin (or, mutatis mutandis, FontSizesRatioTitlesMin, then they are set to be the same. It is, in ratio terms, the minimum difference in font size. These two parameters prevent there being many font sizes that differ only slightly.

Objections?

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 12:32 Sun 15 Apr 2018

jdaw1 wrote:
22:00 Thu 12 Apr 2018

Code: Select all

/FontSizesRatioAboveBelowOverMin 999 def
Done.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 22:57 Fri 20 Jul 2018

Advice wanted on a technical problem, relating to the seed for PostScript’s random numbers, the seed being set with srand.

To fix some bugs and refactor code, each circle’s painting is surrounded by a rrandsrand pair, to put in the stack the current seed, and then to reset the random-number seed to that.

Discussion is happening about a forthcoming Cockburn vertical. The current draft of the placemats has the 1947 and 1967 as:

Image   Image

Observe that the layout of the stars look very similar, with a slight offset. (The eye might start at the top-right of the ‘7’s.) Indeed, relative to the centre of the circle, the stars are identically positioned. Is this:
• Perfection?
• Tolerable?
• Erroneous?

(I admit to dislike—hence this question.)

(Typo fixed.)

PhilW
Dow 1980
Posts: 2715
Joined: 14:22 Wed 15 Dec 2010
Location: Near Cambridge, UK

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by PhilW » 08:17 Sat 21 Jul 2018

jdaw1 wrote:
22:57 Fri 20 Jul 2018
Observe that the layout of the stars look very similar, with a slight offset. (The eye might start at the top-right of the ‘7’s.) Indeed, relative to the centre of the circle, the stars are identically positioned. Is this:
• Perfection?
• Tolerable?
• Erroneous?
Tolerable, though less than ideal. Why do you keep get/setting the seed, rather than simply setting it at the start of the script (presumably to a fixed value for determinism) and then just using rand throughout thereafter?

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 12:26 Sat 21 Jul 2018

PhilW wrote:
08:17 Sat 21 Jul 2018
Why do you keep get/setting the seed, rather than simply setting it at the start of the script (presumably to a fixed value for determinism) and then just using rand throughout thereafter?
Because sometimes multiple passes of randomness need to be aligned. E.g., in Titles and Overtitles:

Image

PhilW
Dow 1980
Posts: 2715
Joined: 14:22 Wed 15 Dec 2010
Location: Near Cambridge, UK

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by PhilW » 14:34 Sat 21 Jul 2018

jdaw1 wrote:
12:26 Sat 21 Jul 2018
PhilW wrote:
08:17 Sat 21 Jul 2018
Why do you keep get/setting the seed, rather than simply setting it at the start of the script (presumably to a fixed value for determinism) and then just using rand throughout thereafter?
Because sometimes multiple passes of randomness need to be aligned.
"need"? no. "want"? perhaps - I would likely have compromised this one, and not chosen alignment for this, unless it turned out to look poor. With your chosen method you still should only need to cache and reseed while drawing the multiple aspects of a single circle, then continue (though this would place restrictions on the order in which you need to draw elements, or increase the seed cache-ing to one per circle, and then restore to subsequent afterwards, which might be the better route, depending on the currently implemented order of drawing of elements.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 20:34 Sat 21 Jul 2018

PhilW wrote:
14:34 Sat 21 Jul 2018
"need"? no. "want"? perhaps - I would likely have compromised this one, and not chosen alignment for this, unless it turned out to look poor.
Disagree: this is a need.


PhilW wrote:
14:34 Sat 21 Jul 2018
With your chosen method you still should only need to cache and reseed while drawing the multiple aspects of a single circle, then continue (though this would place restrictions on the order in which you need to draw elements, or increase the seed cache-ing to one per circle, and then restore to subsequent afterwards, which might be the better route, depending on the currently implemented order of drawing of elements.
Yes. And my question was whether I should. And the answers seems to be ‘yes’.

Glenn E.
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994
Posts: 3358
Joined: 22:27 Wed 09 Jul 2008
Location: Seattle, WA, USA

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by Glenn E. » 21:46 Sat 21 Jul 2018

I actually noticed the non-randomness of the 47 and 67 with merely a glance before reading the rest of the original post.

That said, I don't see it as a problem.

(The overtitles example looks bad to me, and not due to alignment. I would not put the pattern in the overtitle as it makes that word too difficult to read. Especially in the busy parts in 'pe' and 'ia'.)
Glenn Elliott

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 22:48 Sun 22 Jul 2018

Decision made: fixed.

That the fix has shortened the code by ten lines increases the likelihood that it was the right thing to do.

User avatar
flash_uk
Dow 1980
Posts: 2746
Joined: 20:02 Thu 13 Feb 2014
Location: London

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by flash_uk » 00:41 Sun 26 Aug 2018

Julian - Thomas V over on FTLOP has posted that the ps to pdf converter seems to no longer function with a placemat .ps file. Any ideas what's happened? I suspect the converter is doing something different and doesn't like something in the .ps file. The converter at www.ps2pdf.com also seems to have stopped giving a log which is a bit unhelpful for figuring out the issue.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 11:07 Sun 26 Aug 2018

Link to Thomas V’s comment. I’ve asked the PS➝PDF folks for help.

User avatar
jdaw1
Cockburn 1900
Posts: 20527
Joined: 15:03 Thu 21 Jun 2007
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by jdaw1 » 16:38 Mon 27 Aug 2018

Mike Hugo wrote:I've sold the ps2pdf.com domain and it is now being run by someone else.

I continue to keep the old service as ps2pdf.org.

I'm not even sure how your email made it to me as the new owner should be receiving email for the dot com domain but perhaps has not updated something.

When I take the document and convert it at ps2pdf.org it does produce a document.
This document also causes my security wrapper to generate a pile of output as this file includes a bunch of code in it that causes the converter to block certain transactions that the file is trying to do. It still creates a final pdf .

Feel free to link to the ps2pdf.org site.
Posted with permission.

User avatar
flash_uk
Dow 1980
Posts: 2746
Joined: 20:02 Thu 13 Feb 2014
Location: London

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by flash_uk » 22:43 Mon 27 Aug 2018

Many thanks Julian.

User avatar
g-man
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994
Posts: 3370
Joined: 13:50 Wed 24 Oct 2007
Location: NYC
Contact:

Re: Software that makes placemats

Post by g-man » 01:13 Tue 28 Aug 2018

Glenn E. wrote:
21:46 Sat 21 Jul 2018

(The overtitles example looks bad to me, and not due to alignment. I would not put the pattern in the overtitle as it makes that word too difficult to read. Especially in the busy parts in 'pe' and 'ia'.)
I agree with this, the pattern in the over label is completely distracting when placed over the vintage stars.

The vintage stars themselves I find a little too cluttered for the overall appearance that I'm distracted with the fill and not the vintage date itself.
Disclosure: Distributor of Quevedo wines and Quinta do Gomariz

Post Reply