Selling port for dummies!

Port to sell? Excellent! Please post here, with details of what you have, how stored, and where in the world it is. Please start by reading our ‘Standard advice to would-be vendors' and ‘A note to wine merchants’.
Walshy
Cruz Ruby

Selling port for dummies!

Post by Walshy »

Hi all,

I received a case of port when i was born as an investment/present. And i was looking into selling it. Other than enjoying occasional glasses of port im pretty much a complete novice on how to go about selling the port or getting it evaluated. I contacted a couple of sites and have not heard back, though someone from work has given me an offer i do not know if it is a fair one or not!

The Port is Graham's Malvedos 1990.

Any tips/pricing estimates would be greatly appreciated.

First post so go easy!
g-man
Quinta do Vesuvio 1994

Re: Selling port for dummies!

Post by g-man »

If it helps

i can find that port here int he states for 35$/bottle.
Disclosure: Distributor of Quevedo wines and Quinta do Gomariz
Alex Bridgeman
Graham’s 1948

Post by Alex Bridgeman »

Malvedos 1990 is not a first league port and isn't what would normally be regarded as investment grade. In the UK you can buy it for about £30 a bottle at retail, which means that you would expect to be able to sell it for around £15 a bottle.

The easiest way to sell it would be privately to the friend at work or through a wine bulletin board, such as this one. Alternatively, you could go to your local independent wine merchant or local auction house and see if either of them would be interested in helping you.

But, since you enjoy the occasional glass of port, why don't you keep it and drink your way through the case over the next 20-30 years? Enjoy a bottle every 5 years or so to celebrate a landmark birthday and see how the port changes over time. You just need to keep the bottles lying down somewhere undisturbed, cool and dark and they should last that long.